Selected Compositions 1999-2008 of Vijay Iyer - Book

Sale Price $29.99


Vijay Iyer is one of the most significant contemporary composers and performers on the piano. This manuscript represents a compilation of small group compositions by Iyer during a period from 1999 through 2008. The bulk of the pieces were originally written for Vijay's quartet with altoist Rudresh Mahanthappa, bassist Stephan Crump, and drummers Marcus Gilmore, Tyshawn Sorey, and Derrek Phillips, and documented on the albums Panoptic Modes (2001), Blood Sutra (2003), Reimagining (2005), and Tragicomic (2008). The music features experimentation on rhythmic techniques, harmony, orchestration, soloing structures, and macro-form, with an overriding focus on sound and feel. This volume contains contrasting compositional approaches so as to give the reader insight into the broad spectrum of compositional language and devices employed by Iyer. Photo credit: Lena Adasheva

By Vijay Iyer  
Product Number: 22261
Format: Book
ISBN: 0786683597
ISBN13: 9780786683598
Series: Non-Series
Publisher: Mel Bay Publications, Inc.
Date Published: 11/23/2011

No Reviews Yet

Be the First To Rate It

Write a Review